Packing!

Packing!

This can be one of the most exciting but dreadful things about traveling. I would argue there is no set “standard” for packing. It all depends on the region you are going to and you’re travel plan and style. Not to mention essential items vary between guys and girls.

I’m not going to provide a packing list, instead I’m going to give you a few key pointers to ensure that you have everything you need packed! The first step is simple. Simply google search “Study abroad packing list” or “International travel packing list” find a few solid lists, and cross reference them in case one list is missing something. Then each person will have a few personal items that go with them everywhere, so don’t forget those! Also, don’t forget to bring lots of pictures to decorate with! Sadly I didn’t šŸ˜¦ Ā Lastly, I recommend paying specific attention to what you use in your day to day life, because odds are most of those will be essential.

Now as I mentioned above it depends on how you travel. If you fly over and go straight to your University then don’t be afraid to pack a little heavier. However, I did some traveling around to other places ahead of time, and if you do that you’ll want to pack a lot lighter. Trust me on this, I packed into a backpack and a small suitcase and that was just about all I would be able to handle walking around on cobblestone sidewalks. Inside my large backpack, I also had a smaller day pack, this is great not only for when you just go on small day excursions, but can also be used as a backpack for school.

I chose the Porter 46 and the Daylite day pack (Not pictured), both of which are Osprey backpacks. They work well together (as they were designed as a set) and they also meet carry on restrictions for most airlines (Including Ryanair.) The Porter 46 was the carry on luggage, the Daylite pack was my personal item, and the suitcase was a checked bag.

IMG_6518 (1)

Bring major things (laptops, cameras, clothes, etc.) or other thingsĀ that you can’t buy at your destination. But to help save on space and weight, don’t bring things that you can easily get later, such as most toiletries, laundry detergent, etc. However, do bring a small supply of toiletries to use before you get the chance to get to a store. As I touched on above too, make sure you pack for the climate at your destination. NOT the climate in your hometown.

 

 

Leave a comment